This is unbelievable!

As most of you know who read my blog, I work for a library in a small branch. I have been there 8 years. I have managed it when no branch manager was there and done whatever I could to make our branch a great place. My position is considered extra help and though I did other duties, I was ok with it since for me ,with my myeloma diagnosis, I really just wanted to feel like I could be a valuable addition in working. When I started, I was a year out from my transplant and felt I needed to get back to living life. I have always been grateful to Annette for hiring me.

But now the most awful and unbelievable thing has been done by library administration. Friday morning I get to work and Sue says, did I change out the extra money ? Like what? I dont touch the money.

So, she says, it’s missing out of the locked drawer. OMG, when did that happen? She didn’t know. Of course, the key to that drawer is what also opens our money box for fines. So we both would have access to it. Lib admin shows up, we give her a run down. No, I have no clue when or how the money went missing.

I have no reason to deal with that money , it’s Sue’s job. Fast forward to 4:30, I’m home, get a call, that I’m fired. No reason, but do not show up at Applegate library. You have got to be F#%^*ing kidding me. Me, the most honest of people ,who has devoted the last 8 years of my life to this library. You think that I’m somehow involved.

I have never been so humiliated or outraged in my life. For F#%^*ing sakes. Every single day ,I get up and live with an incurable blood cancer. Everyday, I wonder, how long. But, I go to this job and I can forget for a while. Who in library administration would even think I wouldtake $50 for what?

Now of course, I’ve texted Sue, and she isn’t even answering per admins ,do not talk about it. She should stand up and say something . It’s her that should take the fall since she’s the one who can’t remember when the money was last in there. I’m just disposable because I’m extra help.

well, a very very very sad day for me.

9 thoughts on “This is unbelievable!

  1. YOU are not disposable, so please don’t do that type of ‘self talk’. I’m so sorry you were vicetimized, and I’m aware, from personal experience, how hurtful and emotionally painful it can be! I am a religious person, so I feel like in the great scheme of things, the true offender, or the responsible person, even if only through carelessness, will eventually somehow ‘pay for’ their foolishness. Hold you head high and with self-confidence. If you feel like you need to react, go above the library you worked in, and request further investigation, and if that doesn’t work, ask for a legal investigation. Such action may not get your job back, butk it will cause the people who blamed you to rethink their actions, and further cast shadows to get them to be more careful in the future. Doing so, in a very ‘nice & concerned’ manner could cause some changes in the library’s policies, and save the same fate from happening to someone in the future.
    I once assured a doctor that I was intent on putting an editoral in the local newspaper if my father didn’t receive his needed specific medications in a more timely manner. ……and suddenly my dad was receiving the higher dose at regular intervals. No one likes publicity, ………but as long as it’s not done with concern for ‘what’s right’, ……and not in a threatening manner, there are ways to make people HEAR YOU. Don’t go ‘humbly’, …… but don’t make it EASY for someone to do wrong things and victimize you!! Regardless of what you decide, you have a pure heart and a clean conscience, ……..and you can sleep at night!!!
    Someone else probably isn’t sleeping so well!! Take care of yourself. <<>> B.

  2. I’m sorry about this turn of events. Something hinky is going on and you are taking the fall that’s for sure!
    Whoever is running things there is an ass if you ask me…..

  3. Thanks for everyones kind thoughts. I’m getting a little better. Not crying as much and seeing it more clearly. They wanted a scapegoat to blame, and not a permenant employee. It’s very upsetting since I’ve devoted myself to public libraries my whole life. This admin has serious issues and I know there will be no resolution as they are not required to give any reason for the dismissal. But tomorrow I’m posting on Facebook the whole story and many in library service will see what I post. So, for now I will just pick myself up and enjoy my time and redirect my energy in a new way.

  4. Tha’s insane! We had a situation like that at work a few years ago where several people had access to missing money….including me. I asked to take a polygraph just to clear my name as did a couple other people. Never happened, but neither was anyone fired because they couldn’t prove who did it.
    I know lawyers are expensive, but if you could find one to take the case on contingency, you should sue the heck out of them! JMHO…..

    Debra

  5. Yay! Chris…you posted your story on FaceBook…I am very proud of you…which I am anyway…onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

