Zucchini fritters!

imageIf you grow a garden like we do, you’re probably getting a ton of zuchinni right now. As you also probably know you can’t really freeze zuchinni as it has too much water content. But uou can freeze zucchini fritters.

So this is what I do:

Use a box grater , and grate 2-4 zuchinni and summer squash. Add some salt so as sweat the zucchini (maybe 30 minutes), in the mean while you can chop up green onion, grate carrot. Then squeeze

e as much water out of the grated zucchini as you can. You’ll be surprised. Then add the onion, carrot, 1/4 cup flour or panko, salt pepper, even a little chili pepper, a beaten egg. I like too add a little feta cheese too.

Heat up a pan with olive oil, and make patties. Brown on each side , cool , and then I put the, in wax paper and then a freezer bag.

I’m making another batch today and looking for a zucchini bread recipe too. I think that should freeze well too.

I’m going to town today to get a few things.  I also have a huge load to bring to the food bank.

Tuesdays are hard for me now since that was my day to open the library. I sure miss my schedule, but I’m trying to find other things to do on that do to keep me busy. I miss my job, and the library, but it’s about going forward and finding the best of this situation.

Leave a Reply

