Not great news

Well, just called the nurse since my doctor is still on vacation, to get my labs. I’m really disappointed. My Absolute neutrophils are great 1980, but my m protein went up to .9, that’s a big jump for me and definitely not good. My kappa light chains went up slightly to 890. So, now what ? Obviously the  drug Pomalyst is not doing anything so, I guess we will have to discuss switching . Or maybe adding Velcade ? Geez, I don’t know. But having my monoclonial protein jump up scares me. So…

The SCCA doctor,Dr Caffey, suggested when these drugs stop working going to cyborg. I know that’s velcade, but not sure what else is in that combo.

So, I’m definitely concerned. Plus, now I have a disclocated jaw and am having to wear a splint. For a week to see if it’ll go back in on its own. Nothing feels different so I’m not sure it’s doing anything except keeping me from eating. Liquids are ok but not much else.

Plus it’s bulky and hard to talk even.

Talk about depressed. Oh, well , we’ll see what he says next week. Actually both doctors. Not fun😞

5 thoughts on “Not great news

  1. I am sorry. I don’t understand what all of this means but if you are concerned that is enough. I am a two time breast cancer survivor, that unfortunately I know too much about. Cheryl

  2. Sounds like kinda mixed lab results. Hopefully, the Dr can come up with a good plan. How did you dislocate your jaw?! Sounds aweful. I hope thaat improves soon. Call it prayer, or positive energy….I am putting it out there for you 🙂
    Hugs

    • It’s TMJ really. And the disc behind the jaw bone has slipped. Actually I was just talking and felt this really sharp pain in my jaw. Kinda weird really.
      I’m pretty bummed about my labs, but I just have to wait till I see him next week so we can look at a different drug combo.
      Thanks for the positive thoughts and prayers. Any good vibes help.

  3. That’s sucks!!! I am on a med now that seems to be working but I have to get bloodwork constantly and I might have to stop taking it! Finding the right cocktail of drugs is so hard!!!!! Big hugs!!

  4. CyBorD is Cytoxan, bortezimib (Velcade) and dex. How long have you been on Pomalyst? Maybe it hasn’t had a chance to knock that m-spike down. I hope that’s the case for you. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

