Santa Barbara

It was a very very long drive here. We took breaks but 7 and 1/2 hours is hard on the back. It was also raining half way down the valley. It was so great to see things wet and green. ElNino is definitely here in California.

So, it’s been windy but nice. Today is suppose to be less windy and warmer. I walked my first 10,000 steps here. My fit bit buzzed. I can feel it, though.:) We walked the beach trail which is beautiful. Then we walked a lot around town.  Santa Barbara is a very rich area. Homes are in the millions here but the area is so amazing you can see why people want to live here.

We finally got to the taqueria that Julia Child made famous. It’s called Super Rica tacos. It really is kinda a dive but the taco I had was pretty great. Usually, there’re huge lines and wait time. We got in fast and hardly any wait.

We went to the Natural History Museum and enjoyed that.

 

2 thoughts on “Santa Barbara

  1. Hi TG. I spent my dex morning catching up on your blog. Congratulations on the walking! I find it very interesting that you and I have had nearly opposite reactions to Pom/dex and Velcade. I am glad to learn you enjoy a good response to the subQ injections. I loved Velcade and my QOL was high for the 19 months I received injections. However, it never pushed back against the MM, and my SPEP numbers slowly rose. Now, on pomalidomide, I have had a quick reduction in M-protein. Conversely, though, my quality of life has deteriorated. The fatigue and weakness are debilitating for a period of time each week. So, such a peculiar disease we share! I am seriously considering stopping/taking a break from treatment with the Pom. It just seems so harsh in spite of the improved blood values. LOL, what to do? I’ll continue to follow your wanderings with MM and hope that you enjoy continued good health and positive responses with the Velcade. I also receive monthly Zometa. One question: how much dex do you take?

  2. It is interesting how we have had different responses to Pom. I’m glad it’s working for you. Remember, though, I was on Revlimid for almost 5 years and it keep the myeloma at bay.
    Velcade has been amazing. I am going to update my blog today.
    Thanks for reading my blog.
    I take 20 mg of dex the morning of the Velcade.

Leave a Reply

