the Williams Sonoma Roast Chicken with Blood Oranges and Red Onion

img_0522So this came out pretty good overall. You could taste the orange zest in the chicken. I didn’t make a gravy with the onions although the red onions looked yummy. I cook the whole chicken in a cast iron pan. Being a former vegetarian, I tend to over cook meat but this came out great.

recipe here’s the link.

Hawaii Planner asked about cooking a whole chicken. It’s really so simple and easy. For a family of big eaters, roast 2. It’s just as easy to do 2 chickens and there are lots of leftovers. So, I use either organic chickens or like Marys, or Rocky chicken at Safeway isn’t organic but is natural. So I just put the chicken in my cast iron skillet. I usually cut up an onion to put under the chicken. Then I use a couple of tablespoons of olive oil over it. Then I put a lemon cut up in the cavity with maybe some thyme from the garden. Then I smoosh some butter on the top of the bird, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Sometimes I put cloves of garlic in with lemon. Then I roast at 375 degrees for usually an hour and a half. If you’re doing 2 chickens I’d go at least 2 hours and voila you have a beautiful dinner. Of course, paranoid me with cooking to the right temperature, I use a digital thermometer just to check.

So since my husband is still vegetarian, I always grill some tofu up with tamari and butter. I think if I wasn’t too lazy I could have cooked up some red onions and blood oranges with the tofu. I often make the same recipe for him just using tofu.

I oven baked a sheet pan of red onions and organic asparagus that I got at Costco.

Speaking of Costco, I said we were so happy to get the organic queen sheets. So, I washed them and my husband aways makes the bed on sheet day( Sunday). So he tells me later gee, the bottom sheet was kinda big.  So later I pull up the corner and it’s a cal King. WTF, The top sheet is a queen and the bottom Cal king. So now on a rainy Monday I have to ( maybe I can get B to do it), got back to Costco which is 25 minutes away, and get a refund and then go into the store and get another pack and then you can bet in the parking lot I’m going to open them and check.  Well…

Plus we’re in for rain and the wind today. But the worst wind is tonight from 10 pm to about 4 am. This bothers me because of my wind phobia ( mostly wind and trees combined), and it will be at night when it’s dark. Well, whatcha gonna do???

 

5 thoughts on “the Williams Sonoma Roast Chicken with Blood Oranges and Red Onion

  1. Your chicken looks amazing! I used to roast my own chickens, but hate to run the oven here, so now we just buy a rotisserie chicken at Costco. Years ago I bought a Spanek vertical roaster, and love it, although I love your addition of lemon and garlic. The Spanek is super easy for clean-up though.

Leave a comment